Press Release

41st WAMI Awards Winners

41st WAMI Awards Winners Announcement Graphic

The annual awards recognizes members of the Wisconsin Music Industry for their achievements, contributions and excellence.

About the Awards

For over 40 years, the awards are given across over nearly 80 categories. Over the course of history only half have been given at the show.

About the Awards Show

This is an annual occasion for our community to get together, enjoy live music performances and celebrate the achievements of all nominees, finalists, winners and Hall of Fame Inductees. And for the first time, it is also a chance for WAMI to reveal our plans for bringing WAMI Scholarships to music students and educators across Wisconsin.

About the Categories Presented at the Awards Show

The awards that are presented at the show are determined by the categories receiving the highest number of votes that fit in our three hour awards show time frame, along with 11 live performances.

Announcing all Winners

The delay in announcing all winners is because of the intentional separation of the WAMI Board and the voting process that is now handled by Broadjam, our third party tabulation partner.

Simply put, WAMI did not have access to the list of winners until the morning of Monday, May 22. 

At that point, it was sent to all major media outlets in the state of Wisconsin.

Presenting the Complete List of Winners

This complete list of winners is organize alphabetically by category.

Category Winner
Acoustic Bass (String) Andy Mertens
Acoustic Guitar Myles Wangerin
Album Of The Year Wide Wide Open – Amelia Ford
Alternative Rock Artist Of The Year Blame It On Cain
Artist Of The Year The WhiskeyBelles
Banjo & Mandolin Beau Janke (Banjo)
Bass Guitar Eric Hervey
Best Club Paulie’s Pub & Eatery
Best Festival Mile of Music Festival
Best Live Engineer Sound/Lights Trevor Powers
Best Overall Venue Paulie’s Pub & Eatery
Best Recording Studio Axis Recording Studio
Best Studio Engineer/Producer Marc Golde
Best Theatre The Sylvee
Bluegrass/Americana Artist Of The Year Copper Box
Blues Artist Of The Year Altered Five Blues Band
Blues, Country & Folk Album Of The Year Shine – Mr. Blink
Christian/Gospel Artist Of The Year King’s Conquest
Club/DJ/Dance/Electronic Artist Of The Year Area-715
Country Artist Of The Year The WhiskeyBelles
Country Song Of The Year Whiskey Morning – Genesee Depot
Cover Artist Of The Year The Glam Band
Drummer Junior Gamez
Electric Guitar Tallan Noble Latz
Female Vocalist Of The Year Donna Woodall
Folk & Blues Song Of The Year Great Minds Drink Alike (With Horns) – Altered Five Blues Band
Folk/Celtic Artist Of The Year Frogwater
Free Reed & Wind Melissa Weishaar (Harmonica)
Hard Rock Artist Of The Year Sacred
Hip Hop/Rap Artist Of The Year Cujo
Horn/Big Band Artist Of The Year The Hot & Dirty Brass Band
Instrumentalist Of The Year Kris Crow (Piano)
Jazz Artist Of The Year Erin Krebs
Male Vocalist Of The Year Rich Hoffman
Metal Artist Of The Year Thrasher
New Artist Of The Year Driving Miss Crazy
Northeast Artist Trash Pandas
Northeast Fan Rachel Sebstead
Northeast Music Teacher Erin Krebs
Northeast Music Venue Fox Cities Performing Arts Center
Northeast Radio Station WAPL Home Brewed
Northwest Artist Rising Phoenix
Northwest Music Venue Tiki Beach Bar & Grill
Orchestral Strings Thea Vorass (Cello)
Percussion James “Pie” Cowan (Hand Percussion)
Piano Dave Adler
Polka Artist Of The Year The Squeezettes
Pop Rock Artist Of The Year Big Spoon
Pop, R & B, Rap & Electronic Song Of The Year Nobody Else Like You – Alaria Taylor
Punk Artist Of The Year Ratbatspider
R&B/Soul Artist Of The Year The Pocket Kings
Rising Star Of The Year Smart Mouth
Rock Album Of The Year Lake Effect – Lake Effect
Rock Song Of The Year Blood in the Water – Would You Kindly?
Saxophone Tom Washatka
Singer/Songwriter Of The Year Keith Pulvermacher
Song Of The Year Great Minds Drink Alike (With Horns) – Altered Five Blues Band
Southeast Artist The WhiskeyBelles
Southeast Fan Travis Steffen
Southeast Music Teacher Dave Schoepke
Southeast Music Venue Paulie’s Pub & Eatery
Southwest Artist The Jimmys
Southwest Fan Kristin Shafel
Southwest Music Venue The Majestic Theater
Southwest Radio Station WORT FM
Specialty – Keyboards & Electronics Kevin Schultz (Organ)
Specialty – Strings Leroy Deuster (Pedal Steel Guitar)
Specialty – Wind Erin Krebs (Flute)
Synthesizer Marcell Guyton
Tribute Artist Of The Year The Rush Tribute Project
Trombone Mike Clobes
Trumpet Eric Sperry
Turntables & Decks DJ Trans Am
Unique Album Of The Year Firebird – Cullah
Unique Song Of The Year My Hometown Milwaukee – Jerry Grillo
Video Of The Year Great Minds Drink Alike (With Horns) – Altered Five Blues Band
Violin Chris Wagoner
World/Reggae/Ska/Latin Artist Of The Year Natty Nation


WAMI will provide every award winner a trophy at no cost. Award winners can learn more about obtaining trophies here.